

EUROPEAN COMMISSION DIRECTORATE-GENERAL FOR EDUCATION, YOUTH, SPORT AND CULTURE

Innovation, International Cooperation and Sport Unit C3 – International Cooperation

> Brussels, EAC-C.3/JDV/CM

## NOTE FOR THE ATTENTION OF ERASMUS+ INTERNATIONAL PROJECT **COORDINATORS**

## Subject: Visa for incoming Erasmus+ participants from Partner Countries

Visa issues remain one of the main difficulties encountered by universities, academic staff, students, young people and youth workers who participate in Erasmus+ projects. This note provides general guidelines on the issuing of visas and residence permits to Erasmus+ participants coming from Partner Countries.

Authorisation for the entry and stay of third-country Erasmus+ participants must be dealt with in coordination with the national authorities of the destination Programme Country. It is the responsibility of all participating organisations to ensure that the required authorisation is issued before the planned activity takes place.

Generally speaking, participants in Erasmus+ projects staying in the destination country for more than three months need a long-stay visa and/or a residence permit before travelling. A short-stay visa is never an appropriate authorisation when the stay exceeds three months.

Applications for authorisation must be submitted to the relevant authorities of the Programme Country well in advance, as the process may take several weeks. If there is no Consulate of the Programme Country in their country of residence, participants should contact the Ministry of Foreign Affairs or the Immigration Office of the Programme Country to identify the responsible consulate. National Agencies in the Programme Countries may give further advice and support concerning visas, residence permits, social security, etc. The EU Immigration Portal<sup>1</sup> provides general information on visas and residence permits, both for short stays and long stays.

Several documents are needed when applying for the necessary authorisation. The exact type of documents that are required will depend on the purpose of the stay and on the rules of the destination country.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> http://ec.europa.eu/immigration/

Commission européenne/Europese Commissie, 1049 Bruxelles/Brussel, BELGIQUE/BELGIË - Tel. +32 22991111 http://ec.europa.eu/dgs/education\_culture

Claire.Morel@ec.europa.eu

## Guidelines according to the destination Programme Country and the duration of stay

Destination Programme Country	If short stay – no more than three months	If long stay – more than three months
Erasmus+ Programme Countries which are members of the Schengen Area <sup>2</sup> : Austria Belgium	Non-EU nationals might need a <b>short-stay visa (so called</b> <b>'Schengen visa')</b> depending on their nationality. <u>Check if a visa is</u> <u>needed</u> <sup>3</sup> . In principle Schengen visa holders	Non-EU national participants will need <b>a long-stay visa or a</b> <b>residence permit</b> issued by destination country they will reside in. A short-stay visa is never an appropriate authorisation when the stay exceeds three
Czech Republic Denmark Estonia Finland France Germany Greece Hungary Iceland Italy Latvia Lithuania	can travel freely within the 26 Schengen area countries. With a single-entry visa the holder can enter the Schengen area only once. With a multiple-entry visa the holder can enter and leave the Schengen area a number of times during the validity period of the visa. What is needed to obtain a	months. Sometimes the destination country issues a residence permit replacing the long-stay visa once the non-EU national arrives in its territory. The rules differ depending on the length of the stay and on the country of destination. The <u>EU Immigration</u> <u>Portal</u> <sup>5</sup> contains links to the national authorities of the
Luxembourg Malta Netherlands Norway Poland Portugal Slovakia Slovenia Spain	<ul> <li>Schengen visa (indicative list):</li> <li>A completed and signed application form</li> <li>A valid travel document and a photograph in the right format</li> <li>Documents related to the purpose of the trip (e.g. the Erasmus+ documentation)</li> <li>Evidence of financial means</li> </ul>	<ul><li>Programme Countries which are members of the EU.</li><li>If participants hold a residence permit or a long-stay visa issued by a Schengen area country, they can move freely within the Schengen area.</li></ul>
Sweden Liechtenstein	<ul> <li>Documents related to accommodation</li> <li>Travel insurance covering a minimum of €30,000 and valid for the entire Schengen area and for the duration of the stay.</li> </ul>	Non-EU nationals travelling to a Schengen area country via another Schengen area country must make sure that they have a long-stay visa or residence permit issued by the destination country.

 <sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> Switzerland is the only Schengen Area country which is not an Erasmus+ Programme Country.
 <sup>3</sup> http://ec.europa.eu/immigration/do-i-need-a-visa/do-i-need-a-short-stay-visa\_en
 <sup>5</sup> http://ec.europa.eu/immigration/

	The <b>administrative fee</b> (currently $\notin 60$ in most cases) is waived for students, postgraduate students and accompanying teachers who undertake stays for the purpose of study or educational training, as well as for researchers travelling for the purpose of carrying out scientific research. Check the website of the competent Programme Country for detailed information. The <u>EU</u> <u>Immigration Portal</u> <sup>4</sup> contains links to the national authorities of the Programme Countries which are members of the EU.	Higher education institutions should cover fees, insurance and bank transfer costs (or part of these) using Erasmus+ organisational support funds, i.e. not deducting these from the participant's individual support grant. Any cost charged to the participant's individual support grant should be clearly understood by the participant and agreed, in advance, by both parties.
Erasmus+ Programme Countries which are not members of the Schengen Area:	Non-EU national participants will need a <b>national short-stay visa</b> or not, depending on the rules of the country of destination.	
Bulgaria Croatia Cyprus Ireland Romania United Kingdom Turkey Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia	Holders of Schengen visas valid for multiple entries can enter Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus and Romania without an additional national visa.	

Claire Morel

Head of Unit

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>4</sup> http://ec.europa.eu/immigration/